The 2020 Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics

Professor Vikram S. Deshpande
Professor Vikram S. Deshpande

It is with pleasure that the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics and Elsevier jointly announce the award of the 2020 Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics to Dr. Vikram Sudhir Deshpande of the University of Cambridge. This prize was founded by and is sponsored by Elsevier. The prize was presented to Dr. Deshpande at the virtual 25th International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM 2020+1) organized in Milan, Italy, during which Dr. Deshpande delivered a lecture on 25 August 2021. Dr. Deshpande is currently a Professor in the Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge. After obtaining a B.Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technology, he moved to Cambridge University, where he received his Ph.D. in Engineering in 1998.

During his distinguished career Deshpande has made seminal contributions in mechanics of materials, ranging from the design of micro-architectured materials to modelling soft and active materials. He is the world-leading authority in his generation in the emerging subject of microstructural mechanics. His research output is prodigious, with a steeply rising profile, and he combines deep theoretical understanding with insightful experiments to unravel complex phenomena over a wide range of topics. These range from the impact on structures by the shock waves within a sand blast to the role of entropic forces in cell mechano-transduction. A number of high-profile international researchers have interacted with him, and in many of these collaborations he took the intellectual lead. Deshpande’s breadth of interests, theoretical and experimental skills, and general influence on solid mechanics research worldwide make him one of the strongest contemporary contributors to the field.

Past winners of the Rodney Hill Prize:

  • 2016 – Raymond Ogden
  • 2012 – Huajian Gao
  • 2008 – Michael Ortiz