The Batchelor Prize in Fluid Mechanics

Nominations for the 2024 Batchelor Prize are now open.

The Batchelor Prize, founded and sponsored by the Journal of Fluid Mechanics (awarded under the auspices of IUTAM) is presented once every four years at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM), the next occasion being in Daegu, Korea in August 2024. The prize winner will be announced late in 2023.

Deadline for nominations is May 31 2023 and the announcement of the winner will be made at the end of 2023.

The Prize of $25,000 is awarded every four years to a single scientist for outstanding research in fluid dynamics, recognizing research which has been published during the ten-year period prior to the announcement of the award. The intention is that younger researchers should be as eligible for consideration as those who are more established, and that the work should be of great current interest (representing, for example, an emerging field of application of fluid mechanics or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject).

The Prize winner will be determined by a small committee whose members are internationally distinguished in fluid mechanics.

It is expected that the Prize winner will deliver a lecture at International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM) and that this lecture will be published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics and be made freely available on the Cambridge Core website.

How nominations for the Batchelor Prize work

The nomination process is open to everyone, and nominations should be made via email to If you would like someone to be considered for the Batchelor Prize please nominate them using the procedure outlined below:

The nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae of the candidate nominated.
A list of their publications during the period 2013-2022; with up to 10 of particular distinction being marked by an asterisk (there is no requirement that the research was published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics).
A brief (one or two page) statement of the case for making the award, including reasoning for the selected papers of distinction. A joint signed statement is acceptable and further supporting letters are not required.
Conditions concerning the award of the Batchelor Prize:

Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.
All nominations must be in English.
The decision of the Committee shall be final. Previous winners are not eligible.

Winners of the Batchelor Prize:

2020 Alexander J. Smits
2016 Raymond E. Goldstein
2012 Detlef Lohse
2008 Howard Stone

More Notices

IUTAM Statement on the Ukrainian crisis

The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics

The Batchelor Prize in Fluid Mechanics